Lakeview Lutheran Church was established as a congregation on January 20, 1856. We have a long and rich history of serving the people of God on Madison’s north side.
In 1856, the Lakeview Cemetery Association was established to manage the Lakeview Lutheran Cemetery located on the church property. At the present time, our cemetery lots are sold under perpetual care.
In 1884 the congregation built its first building, the historic chapel, which continues to stand in its original position on the Lakeview hill. Although this building – which seats about 70 individuals – has no running water or bathroom facilities, it does have heat and electricity. It has been refurbished to its original state and is used for weekly Saturday evening worship, some holidays, and periodic weddings and funerals.
In 1952, the congregation built a parish hall with kitchen, dining room, classrooms and bathrooms. It has been refurbished several times since its construction and in 1966 the existing sanctuary, library and large gathering room was built onto this parish hall. The sanctuary seats 300 individuals. Both structures have been renovated to accommodate people using wheelchairs and walkers. Ramps, designated parking stalls, an elevator, appropriate seating space and automatic door openers have been installed.